beauty

I rounded the corner to the showers in a locker room. The stall on the end had its shower curtain wide open. The woman that occupied the stall was a large (on any one’s standards) black woman.

Of course the first thing I said, “Oh! Sorry!” And quickly marched passed with my gaze down.

But I couldn’t shake what I saw.

She was BEAUTIFUL to me. All the curves. All the extra body. Her whole shape was stuck in my brain. I was so surprised at my reaction!

No, it wasn’t sexual. There was no lust here. It was pure appreciation. I loved that I found her so pretty, but this was my favorite part. An epiphany is you will.

Maybe we are all beautiful to others. Men and women. What’s the saying? We are our own worst critic? What if someone saw my flawed body and thought the same? Because I am far from in love with my naked self. Wonder how that woman feels about her body… Would it have been strange to tell her how beautiful I thought she was. LOL. Um. Yeah. Reality check. But maybe she does know… she did have that curtain pulled back… Just sayin!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “beauty”

  1. Enigmatic Amor Says:

    Love your train of thought. Yes, there is beauty where we don’t expect it. Glad you got a glimpse. 😉

Leave a Reply

